The ToneWay® Project: helping people play music

Numbering system for notes

I just started your system mostly to play all the songs in the book. Although I'm a beginner, I can read music and I'm having trouble using your numbering system for the notes. I've been converting the numbers to notes on the fret board diagrams and it's really cumbersome. When I look at the diagram showing ex: 3 1 1 1 6, etc. I think of it as F#, open D, open D, open D, B, etc. I know where all those notes are on the fret board, but when I look at the numbers in the scroll across the page, I then have to look where the number is on the fret board, convert it to a note and then pick it. Whew!

Then I look at all the songs in the book and I know all the chords, but I won't be able to pick the melody because it's not there. So, is the point of the book saying that I have to learn the song using the chords and then figure out the notes for myself by ear or find the music online and then play it from there?

I'm confused because I don't see how learning the numbering system will help me play the song. And I realize that your system is all about playing by ear, but your numbering system is not, yet the songs in the book don't have any numbers, so I would have to listen to how the song is sung on U tube and then try to hear the notes if I wanted to play the melody.

Maybe I just haven't read far enough into the book. I don't know. I just don't want to keep going forward at this when if I had the music, I could play it right away. Can you straighten me out or suggest how I can make this easier on myself? I was pretty excited to get all these songs to play, yet disappointed that I wouldn't be able to play melody.